Advice I’ll Never Take

It’s been a while since I wrote a post here at my author blog, so I apologize.  In my defense, I’ve been busy writing.

Soulbright is nearly complete and ready for the editing phase. I’ve also been researching for a few non-fiction books. More on that some other time.

Someone asked me the other day if I had ever considered writing a book about the process of writing. You know, one of those How-to books that are so “popular.”

I’ll be honest with you. I’m not really sure I could do that at this stage in my life. The reason that I couldn’t write one of those books is similar to the reason I couldn’t write a book on parenting in all good conscience. It’s not that I doubt my ability as a parent. It’s not that I think I’m a bad parent. It’s not even that I don’t think that I have some good advice for people raising their children. It’s that I haven’t finished raising mine yet. There might be something up the road that completely changes my philosophy of parenting.

On the same vein, I haven’t really gotten to the stage in my writing where I feel that I’m successful enough, even on my own terms, to start telling other people how they should write. I think that a certain amount of experience is required in order to write a book like that. And yet I see a lot of people writing blogs and books about how we should and shouldn’t write – and some of these people have only published a couple of books, or novellas or short stories or flash fiction or, worse, nothing at all! Except a book about how to write.

Now I am sure that these people mean well but whatever advice that they’re giving has to be parroted. It has to be something that’s borrowed from writers who actually have the experience. Almost nothing that someone who hasn’t been in this game for at least a decade could amount to anything worth listening to, because it would lack the experience that is required for wisdom.

Now that’s not to say that I couldn’t write a book that discusses different theological issues in writing sci-fi and other genres of speculative fiction. I’ve considered doing that. And not to say that we shouldn’t write posts thst share our writing insights. Although frankly I did wait until I had a few books and a couple yesrs under my belt before I even started doing what little writing advice I’ve proffered.

But just like I wouldn’t take advice from someone on how to build houses who’d never build or designed any houses themselves or hadn’t been in the market for years so that I can see houses that they’ve done that were still standing after a while, there’s no way that I would take advice in a blog post or an article from someone who hasn’t done the time who hasn’t put in the effort, who hasn’t been around long enough to be worthy of my ear.

So if you’re out there and you’re writing advice on how to write and you like that experience don’t take it personally but that’s just not advice I can take.

Until we reach The Last Door,
Tony Breeden

Leave a Reply

